200 Alabama Bicentennial

Celebrating Alabama’s 200th birthday2017 2018 2019


Alabama Constitution of 1861

Also known as the "Secession Constitution." The preamble states that "We, the people of the State of Alabama, having separated ourselves from the government known as the United States of America..." The constitution includes the following articles: declaration of rights; distribution of powers; legislative department; executive department and militia; judicial department and impeachment; general provisions; education; banking; and slavery. There are also two explanatory provisions. The first describes the change from the territorial to the state form of government, and the second describes the secession of Alabama from the United States. The document is written on 11 sheets of parchment, each page glued to the one below it; it is 20 feet and 8 inches long.

Creator: Alabama Constitutional Convention of 1861
Date: 1861
Repository: Alabama Department of Archives and History
Format: Constitution

Click here to download document

Click here for more information

ALCOS Social Studies Content Standard:
Grade 4: Standard(s) 7
Grade 5: Standard(s) 11
Grade 7 (Civics): Standard(s) 4
Grade 10: Standard(s) 13
Grade 12 (US Government): Standard(s) 5

Back to Educators » Primary Source Packets » Constitutions and Citizenship » 1861 Constitution